Danbury 2022 Distinguished Teachers Announced

Danbury 2022 Distinguished Teachers Announced
Posted on 05/13/2022

Danbury, CT- 20 faculty members have been identified as Danbury’s 2022 Distinguished Teachers.

Danbury Public School principals along with their chosen committee worked together to identify one outstanding teacher in their respective building who inspires and accelerates growth for all students, builds strong partnerships with families and communities, and champions the teaching profession. 

The recipients are:


Alison Safford, Pembroke Elementary School

Barbra Stuart, Mill Ridge Primary School

Caitlin Palinkas, Ellsworth Avenue School

Cara Battaglia, South Street Elementary School 

Cathy Buhrman,Hayestown Avenue School

Daniela Esposito, Alternative Center For Excellence

Donna Schorr, Stadley Rough Elementary School 

Doreen Cherniske, King Street Primary School

Elizabeth DiResto, Shelter Rock School

Emily Lopes, Rogers Park Middle School

Gwendolyn Davidson, Danbury Primary School

Heather Mulle, King Street Intermediate School

Jamie Pope, Broadview Middle School

Joseph DiGuiseppi, Westside Middle School Academy

Lori Woodruff, AIS Magnet School

Luzia Guardado, Park Avenue School

Melissa Gabriel, Morris Street School

Melissa Teel, Danbury High School

Michael Flynn, Great Plain Elementary School 
Vincent Lore, REACH/Endeavor

Later this week, the Teacher of the Year Selection Committee will review each of those selected to be the 2022 Danbury Teachers of the Year. Through a collaborative process, one educator will be chosen to represent Danbury in the Connecticut Teacher of the Year Program. 

Distinguished Teachers will be honored at the Danbury Teacher of the Year Awards Ceremony on May 24, 2022, at which time the district winner will be announced.  The ceremony will be held at Broadview Middle School 72 Hospital Ave, Danbury, CT 06810. The Danbury Teacher of the Year award recipient will be honored by the Board of Education On Wednesday, May 25th, during their 7 PM biweekly meeting.